The End of the World as We Know It?

Image

 

Tomorrow could possibly be the end of the world.   Surely, it is not, at least by any logical means.    However, imagine if it was – what if the ancient Mayans, with their fantastic astronomical skills, predicted something that we still can’t see?  What if the human race gets blindsided?

What would you do on your last day on earth?   It makes me realize that my priorities have changed.   A few years ago, all that I would have cared about was partying my ass off for one last night on earth.  Now, I hope that I can try to squeeze in as much quality time with my family as possible.   I am so lucky to have my boyfriend; assuming the world doesn’t end, we will be together for ten years this Valentine’s Day 2013.   It’s so shocking to think that I am nearing knowing my boyfriend longer than I knew my mother, who died when I was thirteen years old.    I am so thankful for him.  He is so much more than just my best friend and my boyfriend – Rob and I love each other unconditionally.   We would both literally die for the other.   Rob has helped me through so much, and he continues to make my smile every day. Even now, he is stepping up his game and working more hours so I can try my hand at being unemployed and writing professionally.  He believes in me, and it’s so rewarding to having such a wonderful cheerleader by my side throughout all of my life.  I am so grateful and thankful for him.  I think that I probably took advantage of his love in the past, and I am trying my best to make up for that now.  I love Rob with all of my life, and I hope that this year brings some really positive changes for us.  I would love to finally get married, and I think that our ten year anniversary is a fitting time in which to do so.  Lately, when we have been making love, we haven’t bothered with any protection. My biological clock is ticking, and I think that I would actually be grateful and embrace a child at this point in my life. I’m twenty-eight years old, and I have been madly in love with the same wonderful man for nearly ten years of my life.  I think that we are ready to bring new life into the world.   

So, if tomorrow truly was the last day on earth for all of us, I would gather all of my family together – Rob, his mother, his sister, his brother in law, and my uncle Tommy, and just truly enjoy the time that we have together.   I’m sure, at least from a scientific point of view, that nothing will happen tomorrow.   However, these doomsday scares should be a reminder to love our family more and spend more time with them.

I’ll talk to you all on December 22nd!

Leave a Reply

